Current Affairs News 2018Current Affairs 2018

Sports Authority Of India

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi appoints one of the senior bureaucrat Neelam Kapoor as the New Director General (DG) of the Sports Authority Of India.

She was Principal Director General of Press Information Bureau (PIB) in UPA Government headed by then PM Manmohan Singh and has also worked as the Principal Director General of the Directorate of Field Publicity.

Being PIB chief, she headed information officers attached to every central government ministry.

About Sports Authority Of India
  • Sports Authority Of India (SAI) is an apex National Sports body set up in 1984 by Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports for the development of sport in India.
  • It is headquartered at, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Delhi) and conducts various activities and schemes to promote sports in India.
  • The Sports Authority of India (SAI) is also a successor organization of the IXth Asian Games which were held in New Delhi in 1982 and is known to  set up as a Society registered under Societies Act, 1860.


The Indian Navy inaugurated third Scorpene class Submarine named as INS Karanj. Named after the earlier Kalvari class INS Karanj the submarine is to be manned by a team of eight officers and 35 sailors and will carry sea-skimming SM39 Exocet missiles and the heavyweight wire-guided Surface and Underwater Target (SUT) torpedoes. It is also said to be equipped with mobile anti-torpedo decoys for self-defence.

two Scorpene submarines

INS Karanj

Key Points
  1. INS Kalvari being the first to be launched is to followed by the launch of the first two Scorpene submarines — INS Kalavari and INS Khanderi.
  2. These submarines are the class of Diesel Electric Attack Submarines. Used by the French Direction des Constructions Navales (DCN) and the Spanish company Navantia, and now by DCNS.
  3. It features diesel propulsion and an additional air-independent propulsion (AIP).
  4. The Scorpène class of submarines has four subtypes: the CM-2000 conventional diesel-electric version, the AM-2000 AIP derivative, the downsized CA-2000 coastal submarine, and the enlarged S-BR for the Brazilian Navy, without AIP.